New Additions to the
Breakout Boxes from Breakout EDU
Update to School Library Program Rubric
NEW YORK STATE LIBRARY ANNOUNCES CONTINUATION OF ELECTRONIC PRODUCTS FOR NOVELNY THROUGH 2022
The New York State Library is pleased to announce that the current collection of NOVELNY (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library) statewide e-resources will be extended for an additional year through June 30, 2022. The resources are listed below.
NOVELNY is an online virtual library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information via libraries and library systems statewide. NOVELNY is an electronic resource access project that enables libraries across New York State to give their communities online access to the full text of thousands of journals, newspapers and other references.
In 2021/22, NOVELNY will continue to offer free statewide access to an encyclopedia, strong general reference and periodicals content, issues, business, news and health concentrations, content for secondary school students, and an interface and content for children.
The databases listed are freely available to over 5,900 public, school, academic and special libraries currently registered for NOVELNY. If your library is not registered please see the For Librarians link on the website or contact the NOVELNY Help Desk at NYSLNOVEL@nysed.gov.
The databases are also available through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation). Geolocation is a method to allow or disallow a user access to a database based on his/her geographic location as determined from their IP address. If a patron is accessing the databases through a library website or the NOVELNY portal while in New York he/she will be able to enter the database without entering a username/password, library card number or a driver license number. New York State residents may also access the databases through the NOVELNY portal from anywhere in the world.
Barring unforeseen circumstances and pending availability of funds, the following databases will be available July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022:
*Business Insights Essentials (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Gale Academic OneFile with Subject Collections (Gale, a Cengage company) *Gale Academic OneFile Select with Subject Collections (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP with InfoTrac Collections) (Gale, a Cengage company) *Gale General OneFile with Subject Collections (Gale, a Cengage company) *Gale OneFile: Informe Académico (Gale, a Cengage Company)
Elementary Level General Periodicals:
*Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids’ InfoBits) (Gale, a Cengage company)
Secondary Level General Periodicals:
*Gale In Context: Middle School (formerly Research in Context) (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Digital Learning, a division of Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.): Includes Britannica School, Britannica Academic and Britannica Escolar.
*Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Gale OneFile: News including New York State Newspapers (formerly InfoTrac Newsstand) (Gale, a Cengage company)
*Gale OneFile: Computer Science (Gale, a Cengage company)
For a brief description of each e-resource, please see the descriptions on the NOVELNY site.
Any questions about the resources described above should be sent to NYSLNOVEL@nysed.gov.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY is an online virtual library connecting New Yorkers to 21st Century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The NOVELNY e-resources will cost $2,665,873 for 2021-2022 and are supported fully with IMLS funds.
The Dutchess BOCES School Library System serves 82 participating school libraries by providing:
The School Library System is a state-funded service that coordinates the networking of information resources and services between school libraries in the Dutchess BOCES. It is a consortium of school libraries joining together for the purpose of resource sharing to meet the needs of students, teachers and administrators in component districts. Services include Interlibrary Loan, consulting, and ongoing professional development workshops in all areas of information literacy, curriculum development, policy and services.
The System maintains a local catalog of Dutchess school library holdings accessible online via OPALS regional catalog containing books of the BOCES School Library Systems in the mid-hudson region of New York State. Delivery of interlibrary loan materials is through electronic mail, fax, UPS, or BOCES courier service. See CoSer 503, 505 and 521.
Salt Point Main Campus
5 BOCES Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 • Voice: 845.486.4800
From the Taconic State Parkway:
[northbound- approximate distance 7 miles]
• Exit at Route 44W [Poughkeepsie/Millbrook]
• Merge onto Route 44W toward Poughkeepsie
• Turn right onto West Road/CR-71
• Turn left onto Salt Point Turnpike/Route 115
• Turn left onto BOCES Road
[southbound- approximate distance 8 miles]
• Exit at Route 115/Salt Point Turnpike
• Turn right onto Salt Point Turnpike/Route 115
• Turn left onto BOCES Road
From the Mid-Hudson Bridge:
[eastbound - approximate distance 5 miles]
• Travel east on Route 44E/Route 55E [Church Street]
• Turn left onto Worrall Avenue/Route 115 (Worrall Avenue becomes Innis Avenue)
• Bear right onto Salt Point Turnpike/Route 115
• Turn right onto BOCES Road